Bergen County Driving While Suspended Lawyer
License Suspension and Penalties
There are a number of different reasons that someone's license could be suspended in the State of New Jersey. Failure to appear in court or to pay fines, receiving 12 points or more on their driving record, reckless driving, or driving while intoxicated (DWI), can all result in a suspended license.
If a person's license was suspended due to a DWI and they continue to operate a motor vehicle, they could be fined up to $500. Further penalties include 10 to 90 days imprisonment and 1 to 2 years could be added to the license suspension. Motor vehicle registration could be revoked as well. If the individual is involved in an accident and someone is hurt, they will be sentenced to a mandatory 45 days in jail. It is a serious offense to drive while a license is suspended and the penalties can be very harsh. It is of great importance to seek expert legal advice of a skilled Teaneck DWI attorney.
DWI Defense in Teaneck, New Jersey
At The Law Offices of Benjamin Kelsen, an experienced DWI defense attorney will be assigned to the case. A full investigation can be undertaken and a strategy outlined to minimize the charges filed against the defendant, which could potentially result in fewer penalties. Mr. Kelsen can review the entire matter to ensure that the person's rights were not violated in any way.
The firm knows that dealing with the court system can be very difficult and an individual attempting to defend against such a charge is a stressful activity. Complicated legal matters arise which they may not be prepared to face. The firm's attorneys pride themselves in their ability to help their clients and can give DWI cases the attention that they deserve. The goal is to have the charges against the client reduced, dismissed or getting a full acquittal in court.
Contact a Bergen County Driving While Suspended Lawyer
to begin fighting for an effective defense today!